“THE LAGOS EXPERIENCE”

The seats weren’t big enough, the struggle to board the bus was intense, the fear of my phone being snatched made me paranoid and sleeping off in the bus was not an option!

Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine I would be stuck in the notorious Lagos traffic even if it was for a short period, let alone commuting using the well-known “Danfo buses “, as early as 6:00am in the morning. Shouting the famous “O wa oo”(said to alert the bus driver that you will be getting off ) as the bus nears my destination was one of my biggest fears everyday during that period. My calm and timid voice continuously begging to overshadow the horns of cars and the voices of people around just to say those words.

One thing I can say for sure is, “Lagos Traffic Will Humble You”. This is not an understatement!

During my first week of work as an intern, I encountered various situations every day. Each day’s challenge was distinct. On the first day, as the novice that I was, I used google map as a guide.

I walked for approximately 4km just because I didn’t know what bus to take, and the traffic that day was at a standstill. No way was I going to sit in a bus for hours due to traffic. Lol I also feel like that’s such a nerdy move using Google map but a girl didn’t want to get lost!

Besides, this was my first time using the Danfo bus alone so I was a bit scared for myself. My legs had never ached that much in my life. “Lara.ng” was also a life saver as it gave a more detailed explanation on the routes to follow. I’m surprised my phone never got snatched from me at any point by way, I had heard stories of how peoples phones were easily stolen at that location. Oh well, lucky me I guess ?

Day 2, I finally spoke to the other interns at work (don’t ask me why I didn’t do that sooner). They advised me on the fastest route to take. But of course, nothing good comes easy, the shorter route made us seat in traffic for so long ehnnn, at that moment I wasn’t sure if I preferred walking or not. Atleast we were able to buy groundnuts in traffic. That begs the question, what wouldn’t you find to buy in this Lagos traffic ?

Day 3, the beautiful waters from the skies decided to unleash itself. Rain beat me tire, the only motivation I had going for me was the good food awaiting me at home to console myself. I was completely drenched and tired on this day.

Day 4, this rain did not yield. On this day, I got home past 8pm. Not only did the rain aggressively unleash itself , but apparently the buses heading to my direction were so tired of seeing my fed up half sleepy face, that they decided to come every 30mins. And of course, this “Omo get inside” (me) couldn’t struggle enough to get in. Thankfully, an empty bus arrived and I knew better to struggle for it.

All in all, one thing I learnt from my week 1 as an intern was to always take a slippers or sneakers along !, prepare for the unexpected and just remain clam, because finding your way in Lagos as an Omo get inside requires all of that and moreeee!

Published by Debra

An introvert who strongly believes the world is her oyster. Journey through my thoughts in the most shaky, bumpy but intriguing way, if you will? Welcome to my blog!!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started